Thread: Top locations to connect with Edmonton's music scene?

Default Top locations to connect with Edmonton's music scene?

Hi everyone,

Nice to meet you all! My name is Yannick and I'm a 27 year old musician, music producer and composer. I currently live in Belgium, but I'm about to explore new horizons. I fell in love with Edmonton via a Canadian friend and now I'm considering relocating to it. Therefore I have planned a two month trip from half september to half november to check things out!

Although I'm very much looking forward to this adventure, it's kinda scary too, since I don't know anyone, besides my one friend, who is not into the music scene at all. Therefore I was hoping to get your opinions on where I should start to connect with people (professionals and non-professionals) in the cultural / music - scene, apart from this forum.

What are the best locations to meet new people? Bars? Events? Jams?

Anyone that wants to know about me or who wants to meet up....your most welcome to contact me. I'm a friendly dude, armed with a bunch of guitar licks!

On the 15th of september: there's a new kid in town!

Becoming a C2E Power Poster

Welcome to Edmonton Yannick!

Please come prepared for snow and cold in the later half of your visit.

I am not overly familiar with Edmonton's music scene, suffice to say the venues for music are concentrated in:

Downtown/Jasper Avenue
    Oliver / 124 Street
    Old Strathcona and Garneau / Whyte Avenue and 109 Street

What genre are you into?

Edmonton is blessed to have a symphony orchestra, military band, television production facilities, and a host of under utilized large venues.

Here is one artist's view of Edmonton:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VKLMvtHvN04

Hi Yannick, here's a thread on live music venues in Edmonton.
    http://www.connect2edmonton.ca/forum...ad.php?t=36441